Editing/Creating Cloned Items

What is a Clone?

When a school has more than one catalog or handbook implemented into the IQ system, it is highly likely that these have shared content. For consistency and ease of use we create a new catalog item called "shared content." This holds any shared sections between all documents. Each item is then "cloned" from the shared content into the catalogs or handbooks. Any edits to these shared items should be done in the shared content catalog, which will then automatically update its clones wherever they reside.

Editing a Clone

All edits should be made to the original item in the shared content. If edits are made in a clone and saved, it can break the link to the original item. 

Clones look a little different and have red check-marks on the icon in the content tree. Academic related items will have a + symbol on the icon in the content tree.

Content Tree_Clone Icon  Content Tree_Clone_Program Requirements Icon Content Tree_Clone_Required Course Icon Content Tree_Clone_Degree Item

Cloned Course Folders and Course items will also have the + symbol, but the icon itself will look different for the course folders.

Content Tree_Clone_Course and Course Folder Icon

Additionally, if the item is a clone, a yellow warning bar at the top of the item will show telling you it is a clone and that you need to edit the original item.

BE 58

Lock & Edit the item in the shared content. The shared content item can be edited in the same way as editing a regular item (see Editing Narrative and Academic Items).

Workflow

You will notice that the clones will appear in your workbox along with the item you just locked from the shared content catalog. This is normal. NOTE: When promoting items through workflow you will want to promote ONLY the shared content item, the clones will automatically be promoted/approved with it. If you promote the clones through workflow separately it will break the link and the clones will have to be remade.

Another way to view the clones is to imagine the shared content item as a parent and the clones as children. The children will go wherever the parent is, but if you try to separate the child (lock & edit/promote/remove/approve) from the parent it gets lost and you will have to reestablish the link. You only want to deal with the parent and not the children when editing or promoting through workflow, the children will follow it wherever it goes.

Publishing

All items, shared content and clones, will need to be published individually. Publishing will not break the link between the clone and shared content item.

Creating a Clone

NOTE: Only users with the administrator role are able to create clones. If you need an item cloned, contact your administrator to clone the item.

Select the shared content item you wish to clone. Under the Configure tab, click the Clone button. 

BE 59

A popup with the content tree will appear. Drill down to the item you wish to place the clone within and select the Clone button in the bottom right of the window. 

BE 60

The system will automatically bring you to the clone that was just created. 

If you are replacing another item, delete the old one prior to recloning the shared content item. 

If your clone is not deleted prior to adding the new item, the words "copy of" may be in the Rename. You will need to open the Rename field to remove these words or else they will show up in the URL when you publish. (Two different items in the system cannot be named the same in the Rename field and because of this rule, it will add the words "copy of" to differentiate them.)

Removing a Clone

To remove the link from the clone to the original, select the clone within the catalog:

BE 62

Click Unclone within the Configure tab:

BE 61